Thematic / Lower Primary Curriculum

This is the curriculum used for P1-P3 classes. It is called Thematic Curriculum because its content is arranged around themes that are familiar to the learners. Teachers are expected to use a familiar area language as the medium of instruction. This may be Local Language for the learners whose first language is not English, English or any language that the learners are able to understand. However, English should be taught in English, and as a strand right from Primary One.

Thematic Curriculum is hinged on five pillars namely:

  1. The use of themes that interest children
  2. Use of familiar area language as a medium of instruction
  3. The class-teacher system
  4. Use of non-text book materials
  5. Continuous assessment of learners’ achievements

There are twelve themes per class, namely:

Primary One

Primary Two

Primary Three

1. Our School

 1. Our School and Neighbourhood

1. Our Sub-County/Division

2. Our Home

2. Our Home and Community

2. Livelihood in Our Sub-County/Division

3. Our Community

3. Human Body and Health

3. Our Environment in Our Sub-County/Division

4. The Human Body and Health

4. Food and Nutrition

4. Environment and Weather in Our   Sub-County/Division

5. Weather

5. Our Environment

5. Living Things: Plants in Our Sub-County/Division

6. Accidents and Safety

6. Things we Make

6. Living Things: Animals in Our Sub-County/Division

7. Living Together

7. Transport in Our Community

7. Managing Resources in Our Sub-County/Division

8. Food and Nutrition

8. Accidents and Safety

8. Keeping Peace in Our Sub-County/Division

9. Transport

9. Peace and Security

9. Culture and Gender in Our Sub-County/Division

10. Things we Make

10. Child Protection

10 . Health in Our Sub-County/Division

11. Our Environment

11. Measures

11. Basic Technology in Our Sub-County/Division

12. Peace and Security

12. Recreation, Festivals and Holidays

12. Energy in Our Sub-County/Division